September 2021 - March 2022
ASL supported with computer-generated captions

BIPOC Leadership Circle

The BIPOC Leadership Circle is designed to center, support, and address experiences of BIPOC leaders of cultural institutions.

BIPOC LC_IG.png

Date | Location

2021 Dates - See Below

All Sessions are hosted via Zoom

About the Program

Being a Black, Indigenous, Person of Color (BIPOC) in a predominantly white sector or organization has its challenges. Try doing that as a BIPOC person in a leadership position! Most organizations, even those that are primarily BIPOC, or BIPOC-friendly, do not offer systems of support and affirmation for BIPOC leaders.

This eight-part series brings together BIPOC leaders of cultural institutions from across the country to provide support, strategies, and systems of accountability in creating dynamic, new leadership models that center BIPOC experiences. 

For inquiries regarding this program, please contact us at BIPOCLeadershipCircle@artEquity.org.

DISCUSSION TOPICS

The BIPOC Leadership Circle will address the following issues and more:

  • How do we effectively lead and navigate organizations that were not designed for us? 

  • How do we ensure that we do not internalize or perpetuate systems of white supremacy? 

  • How do we mentor, sponsor, and support BIPOC colleagues and those we supervise when we rarely (if ever) receive mentoring ourselves? 

  • How do we guard against being tokenized, or worse, being pitted against one another?

  • How do we acknowledge and disrupt anti-Blackness and not allow our light-skin privilege and white adjacency to be used in support of structural racism?

  • How do we center race and antiracism with an intersectional frame that includes other identities and access points?

SCHEDULE

  1. Thu, September 16, 2021

  2. Thu, October 14, 2021

  3. Thu, November 18, 2021

  4. Thu, December 16, 2021

  5. Thu, January 20, 2022

  6. Thu February 3, 2022

  7. Thu, February 24, 2022

  8. Thu, March 10, 2022

All sessions are from:

12:00p - 3:00p PT

1:00p - 4:00p MT

2:00p - 5:00p CT

3:00p - 6:00 p ET