Oct 14, 10:30 AM PDT
Zoom meetings

WOCL

DISCUSSION TOPICS

  • Self-Care

    • How do we separate ourselves from our labor and exist without guilt?

    • How do we lead and preserve ourselves in a time when the disparate impacts of this pandemic are exacerbating the structural inequities we've long been working to address?

    • Wellness and structural innovation to build towards wholeness in this new normal--let's create the new norm that works for us.

  • Resource-sharing

  • Movement-building

  • Grief Management

  • Supporting each other’s artistic work

  • Combatting a culture of urgency in a time of unknown

SCHEDULE

Friday, June 26 from 12:00pm - 1:30pm PT / 2:00pm - 3:30pm CT / 3 - 4:30pm ET

 

Friday, July 24 from 12:00pm - 1:30pm PT / 2:00pm - 3:30pm CT / 3 - 4:30pm ET

 

Friday, August 28 from 12:00pm - 1:30pm PT / 2:00pm - 3:30pm CT / 3 - 4:30pm ET

 

Friday, September 25 from 12:00pm - 1:30pm PT / 2:00pm - 3:30pm CT / 3 - 4:30pm ET

BIPOC LC

BIPOC PWI

Launched in 2015 as a national initiative, artEquity provides tools, resources, and training at the intersection of art and activism. With over 5,000 individuals trained, and a growing alumni community, artEquity is building a broad base of individuals and organizations who are strategically poised to create and sustain a culture of equity, inclusion, and justice through arts and culture.

 

artEquity works with a team-based approach that center the following values:

  • The offering of acknowledgment, awareness and respect to all cultural groups,

  • Transparency in the decision-making process.

  • Shared leadership.

  • Developing an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of our colleagues, as well as their lives and personal values beyond work.

  • The inclusion of communication and learning styles.

  • The practice of naming our need for support; trust that those who name their needs are doing so honestly and with integrity.

  • An ongoing and rigorous feedback loop.

  • Individual and team accountability.

  • Supporting one another.

  • Ongoing relationship building, both with our colleagues and partners, and recognize that our work is fundamentally relational in nature

  • Everyone’s contributions, regardless of their role or responsibilities.

  • Self care.

  • A commitment to ongoing analysis-building and professional development.

SERIES TWO TOPICS

  1. Naming our Realities: Systems and Structures

  2. Strategize and Disrupt: We Have a Right to Be Here

  3. Beyond Survival to Self-Care: Leaving Environments That Do Not Support Us

  4. Support, Engage, and Action: What's Next?

  5. BIPOC + Philanthropy *NEW*

FORUM SESSIONS 

  1. Wed, October 14: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  2. Wed, October 21: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  3. Wed, October 28: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  4. Wed, November 4: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  5. Wed, November 11: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

​​The Wednesday Forum Sessions are a series of panel discussions via Zoom webinar. The topics will be addressed by BIPOC who are in Predominantly White Institutions and/or who have left a PWI.

  1. Sat, October 17: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  2. Sat, October 24: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  3. Sat, October 31: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  4. Sat, November 7: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

  5. Sat, November 14: 10:30a-12:30p PT/1:30p-3:30p ET

​​The Saturday Processing Sessions are intentionally designed to complement the Wednesday Forum Sessions in order to provide a social space to break isolation and as a group: Reflect, Process, Empower, and Rejuvenate (RPER).

PROCESSING SESSIONS